Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

December 31, 2009 - 11:51 p.m.

I'm celebrating New Year 2010 alone. Bubbles left for Afghanistan two weeks after Thanksgiving. His father Boaz is going through a bad depression. When I stopped to visit Boaz two days before Christmas, he was a mess. The old family home was a mess. No Christmas tree or decorations anywhere. Boaz cried after he read my Christmas letter. A flood of emotions overwhelmed him. I took compassion upon Boaz and invited him to spend Christmas Eve at my house. I cooked him prime rib and a special meal. He helped cook the meat while I took a shower. We attended Christmas Eve service together and lit a candle for our son Bubbles. A woman played the piano and sang "Oh Holy Night" for at least 15 minutes while the congregation made its way to the front to place each candle in a sand box, one of three at the altar. It was the most beautiful, surreal experience. I've never heard anyone sing that song so lovely in real life. The female singer was awesome. A gift from God.

At this age (late forties), I realize my mistakes and good fortune. While watching the movie "Julie Johnson" this evening, I had a renewed appreciaton for women who like science and learning. Julie would be very compatible for me as a life partner. If I were fortunate to meet a beautiful, compassionate, caring, and intelligent person in this lifetime. Her enthusiasm for learning and growing each day is downright inspiring. Uplifting. I felt this way when Apple would discuss dinosaurs. Her excitement of learning was one of the most admirable, inspiring qualities I liked about her.

Negative talk, discounting people because of fat issues or learning disabilities perplexed me. On one hand, I can agree that Americans are headed for disaster if they do not watch their diets more closely. But to make loud, rude comments about fat people while standing in line at a toy store is not appropriate or a good way to inspire someone to improve him or herself. A lover or close friend should inspire you to want to be a better man or woman. Jack Nicholson said it best to Helen Hunt in "As Good as it Gets" He told her..."You make me want to be a better man."... I cried a few tears upon hearing those words. Tonight, some tears rolled down my face watching Julie Johnson grow wiser and love as a free, intelligent, inquisitive woman. Engrained in her soul's code was a scientist ready to emerge, after she slept in high school science class and spent the next 17-20 years as a housewife, mom.

I invited Boaz to go skiing with me on Saturday. It should help the both of us to get out of the house and enjoy the beauty and wonder of the outdoors, biology and physics in action.

~ Soldier Girl

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!